1.png

OURWORK

DEDICATED TO BUILDING POWER AT THE INTERSECTION OF RACE AND THE ECONOMY

CONGRESS OF DAY LABORERS/CONGRESO DE JORNALEROS.

STAND WITH DIGNITY.

SEAFOOD WORKERS’ ALLIANCE/ALIANZA DE TRABAJADORXS DE MARISCO Y PESCADO.

The Congress of Day Laborers is an organization of immigrant workers and families founded by the day laborers who helped rebuild New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. It is a hub for immigrants across the Southeast region and a leadership pipeline for hundreds of immigrant workers and families into public life and social movement participation.

 

STAFF/LEAD ORGANIZERS

Rocio Aguilar, Organizing Fellow raguilar@nowcrj.org

Stand with Dignity is a grassroots membership organization of Black workers and families dedicated to winning inclusion, opportunity, and racial equity in the New Orleans economy. Stand is leading a comprehensive strategy to win full and fair employment for Black workers locked into structural and long-term employment and low-wage jobs.

STAFF/LEAD ORGANIZERS

Latoya Lewis, Organizer llewis@nowcrj.org

Alfred Marshall, Organizer amarshall@nowcrj.org

The Seafood Workers Alliance is made up of seafood processing workers organizing to improve conditions in their industry and communities. SWA members are guest-workers, immigrant workers, and local workers uniting in rural areas across the region to address forced labor, community and workplace health and safety issues, wages, and more.

STAFF/LEAD ORGANIZERS Sabina Trejo, Organizer strejo@nowcrj.org

LEGAL AND POLICY ADVOCACY.

The NOWCRJ’s Legal and Policy Department is an impact-strategy department serving the campaigns and initiatives anchored by the Workers’ Center. The legal department’s impact litigation, policy, and advocacy work have undergirded our organizing strategies since the launch of this department in 2008. We focus on cutting-edge legal strategies to advance a civil, labor, and human rights agenda.

STAFF Nikki Thanos, Legal and Policy Director nthanos@nowcrj.org

 Mary Yanik, Senior Staff Attorney myanik@nowcrj.org

Contact Us

The New Orleans Workers’ Center for Racial Justice (Workers’ Center) was founded in 2007. We are a multi-racial organization; committed to racial, gender, and immigrant justice; and dedicated to building power at the intersection of race and the economy. Join the movement!

ADDRESS

3500 Canal Street, 2nd Fl
New Orleans, LA 70119

EMAIL

PHONE

Telephone: (504) 309-5165

Fax: (504) 309-5205

© 2020 New Orleans Workers' Center for Racial Justice